Where to live

Where to live: France or Switzerland ?

In addition to the usual options available in most European towns and cities when deciding on a suitable location to set up home, members of the CERN personnel have the choice of taking up residence in either France or Switzerland, subject to being in possession of the appropriate visas, if needed. The final decision is a matter of personal choice, taking into account family status, financial circumstances and life-style.

 

Town or country?

Geneva is a predominantly urban area with good public transport is highly developed, while nearby France is mainly rural area situated between the Swiss border and the foothills of the Jura mountains, interspersed with a number of small towns. When living outside Geneva, for example in the neighbouring Canton of Vaud, it is advisable to have a private car.

 

Bus connections

In spite of the considerable efforts being made by the local French authorities to improve the quantity and quality of public transport, only Ferney-Voltaire, Thoiry, Sergy and St-Genis-Pouilly currently offer regular bus services to Geneva. While buses from the latter three villages stop outside the main entrance to the Meyrin (Switzerland) CERN site, there is currently no public transport to the Prévessin (France) CERN site, nor between either site and Ferney-Voltaire.

 

Cost of living

Both accommodation and the overall cost of living are generally higher in Switzerland than in France. Fluctuations in the rents charged on either side of the border obviously depend on supply and demand at any given time.

For more information about the cost of living, please consult the HR pages.

You are here

Où se loger

Où se loger: France ou Suisse ?

En plus des options habituelles disponibles dans la plupart des villes européennes au moment de décider d'un emplacement approprié pour s'installer, les membres du personnel CERN ont le choix de résider soit en France, soit en Suisse, sous réserve d'etre en possession du visa approprié, si nécessaire. La décision finale est une question de choix personnel, en tenant compte de la situation familiale et financière ainsi que du style de vie.

 

Ville ou campagne ?

Genève est une région principalement urbaine avec un système de transport publique très développé, tandis que la France voisine une zone rurale située entre la frontière suisse et le contrefort du Jura, entrecoupée d'un certain nombre de petites villes. Lorsque l'on vit en dehors de Genève, par exemple dans le canton de Vaud voisin, il est conseillé d'avoir une voiture privée.

 

Connections bus

En dépit des efforts considérables déployés par les autorités locales françaises pour améliorer la quantité et la qualité des transports publics, seulement Ferney-Voltaire, Thoiry, Sergy et St Genis-Pouilly offrent actuellement des services réguliers d'autobus vers Genève. Alors que les bus des trois derniers villages s'arrêtent devant l'entrée principale du site de Meyrin (Suisse) du CERN, il n'existe actuellement aucun moyen de transport public vers le site du CERN de Prévessin (France), ni entre les deux sites et Ferney-Voltaire.

 

Coût de la vie

L'hébergement et le coût global de la vie sont généralement plus élevés en Suisse qu'en France. Les fluctuations des loyers de chaque côté de la frontière dépendront évidemment de l'offre et de la demande à un moment donné.

Pour plus d'information sur le coût de la vie, consultez les pages HR.

You are here